Beneath His Silence

Coming Soon!

Will Seeking Justice Lead to Her Own Demise?

A Gothic-Style Regency Romance from a Promising Young Author

Second daughter of a baron—and a little on the mischievous side—Ella Pemberton is no governess. But the pretense is a necessity if she ever wishes to get inside of Wyckhorn Manor and attain the truth. Exposing the man who killed her sister is all that matters.
 
Lord Sedgewick knows there’s blood on his hands. Lies have been conceived, then more lies, but the price of truth would be too great. All he has left now is his son—and his hatred. Yet as the charming governess invades his home, his safe cocoon of bitterness begins to tear away.
 
Could Ella, despite the lingering questions of his guilt, fall in love with such a man? Or is she falling prey to him—just as her dead sister?

Pre-Order Now!

“Fast-paced danger and suspense from an exciting newcomer to Regency fiction.” 

—Julie Klassen, Christy Award-winning author of A Castaway at Cornwall 

“A strong story of loss and forgiveness, resentment surrendered to faith, and the mercy of God. Readers will enjoy this turbulent mystery with a smile-worthy ending.” 

—Kristen Heitzmann, Christy Award-winning author of Secrets and The Breath of Dawn

“This book has everything I love…a dark and broody hero, a spunky heroine on a mission, and a deeply delicious creepy manor home. Beneath His Silence is a rather gothic tale set in Regency England, filled with plenty of intrigue, danger, and romance to make for a very satisfying read.” 

—Michelle Griep, Christy Award-winning author of Lost in Darkness

“Grab your blanket and your chocolates and settle in for several hours because once you start reading, you won’t want to stop. What a great story of second chances, romance, intrigue, and danger. Hannah Linder takes you back into the past where you just want to stay and be best friends with all of her characters. Eagerly awaiting the next installment!” 

—Lynette Eason, bestselling and award-winning romantic suspense author 

“With mysterious threats lurking, shadowy motives propelling characters forward, and the purest of love underpinning it all, Beneath His Silence is a story that delivers everything Regency lovers could ask for. A hearty bravissimo to Hannah Linder for her captivating debut!” 

—Roseanna M. White, Christy Award-winning author of A Portrait of Loyalty

“A classic for modern audiences! Hannah Linder dazzles with a timeless voice. I predict she’ll become a staple in the Regency fiction genre.” 

—Caroline George, award-winning author of Dearest Josephine (Thomas Nelson, HarperCollins)

“Gothic overtones abound in this atmospheric tale of secrets, lies, and betrayal. Hannah Linder has penned a twisty tale peopled with sympathetic and relatable characters that will have Regency fans cheering.” 

—Erica Vetsch, author of the Thorndike & Swann Regency Mysteries

“Mystery, revenge, and the challenge of forgiveness weave through this Regency novel filled with period appropriate details. If you enjoy historical suspense Beneath His Silence may well prove to be your cup of tea.” 

—Carolyn Miller, award-winning author of the Regency Brides series

“A heroine pursuing answers. A hero with long-buried secrets. Hannah Linder’s Beneath His Silence is brimming in mystery, heart, and complex characters. I was captivated from page one and didn’t want to put the book down until I discovered how the story ended. You won’t want to miss this wholly satisfying Regency-set read.” 

—Susanne Dietze, award-winning, RWA RITA-nominated author of The Reluctant Guardian

“Charming, absorbing debut from Hannah Linder! Beneath His Silence has all the right ingredients for gothic regency—a mysterious death, family secrets, guilt-ridden hero, courageous-though-naïve heroine. Linder mixes it all with a careful hand, lending a fresh voice to the genre. I look forward to seeing more of her work!” 

—Shannon McNear, 2014 RITA® finalist, 2021 SELAH winner, and author of Elinor and Mary (Daughters of the Lost Colony)

“Set in one of my favorite eras—Regency!—Hannah Linder’s debut brims with mystery and intrigue! Beneath His Silence features a plot which keeps the reader guessing and a faith thread that lifts the heart. Fans of Abigail Wilson and Anna Lee Huber should check this novel out.” 

—Rachel McDaniel, award-winning author of The Mobster’s Daughter

“Hannah Linder is one of Christian fiction’s newest young writers that can easily stand alongside bestselling authors of Regency romances. Her debut release with Barbour Publishing, Beneath His Silence, is a riveting period romance, possessing an atmosphere of mystery and suspense. Ms. Linder has a firm grasp on the historical nuances of the era, with quick and witty dialogue reminiscent of Austen’s novels.” 

— Rita Gerlach, celebrated author of historical fiction 

Beneath His Silence takes the reader on an emotional journey fraught with fears, distrust, and unknown dangers. Author Hannah Linder does a great job with this gothic-style historical romance. The setting is perfect and frames the story. Readers will pull for the heroine, wonder about the hero, and fall in love with the little boy. Fans of Michelle Griep’s Lost in Darkness will love this book.” 

—Pegg Thomas, Selah Award-Winning Author of Sarah’s Choice